Drop Menu Website Template

Hello There, Guest! Register

Need a little guidance
08-31-2012, 02:24 PM (This post was last modified: 08-31-2012 02:42 PM by Elke Banting.)
Need a little guidance
<laughs> For the love of God, what am I doing wrong or am I just having a string of bad luck? I'm fairly new to this thus what follows may be considered as stupid questions.
I've got a couple of Chateau Tawny/White girls I'm trying to breed. I initially chose a Cream Tabby to breed them with because of his traits. <sigh> Between the 2 girls I now have 12 offspring which are 7 Cream Tabbies, 2 Siamese Flame, 2 Oci Chocolate and 1 Oci Cin. Silver. I know that the hidden fur is the Tawny from the mom but I am just not having any luck. Should I have bred the girls with something like an Aby BS? Or am I just having a string or bad luck with kitties being stubborn? Should I be breeding the offspring in hopes they throw the hidden mom fur? (Sorry, I should mention that I'm breeding both girls to their first born male offspring.)

I have a tendency to overthink things which ends up serving no purpose other than to get myself confused...so my next question is...When trying to get a starter to throw its hidden traits, fur in particular (which I know can be an exercise in patience), which is the best route to take with that? Mate the starter to something like an Ocicat Chocolate/more recessive fur?

Any suggestions/advice offered would be greatly appreciated. Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-31-2012, 02:56 PM
RE: Need a little guidance