Drop Menu Website Template

Hello There, Guest! Register

American Shorthair - Cream & White Tabby
06-25-2016, 03:29 PM (This post was last modified: 06-25-2016 03:32 PM by AbiJen Resident.)
Question American Shorthair - Cream & White Tabby
hi, i'm fairly new to breeding, had cats for about 3 months now and only recently started breeding them with any plan in place.

I've got an American Shorthair - Cream & White Tabby, mated with a Foxie - Blondie. please correct me if i'm wrong, i am assuming that "Cream & White Tabby" on line 72 of the Saga charts is the American Shorthair? I've just had a box arrive from this pair which has given an Aby Ruddy, which looking at the Saga charts is dominant to both shown furs of the parents. Am i looking at the wrong chart position for the American Shorthair or is there an error in the chart? I'm guessing the first but wanted some clarification.

Edit:
On looking again at the mom's (Cream and White) pedigree, i noticed she gave me another Ruddy with a different dad, a Aust. Mist - Fawn. At the time I had a pair of Ruddy's popping boxes out too so i guess i never noticed the parents it was from.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-25-2016, 07:07 PM (This post was last modified: 06-25-2016 07:58 PM by Peaches Latrell.)
RE: American Shorthair - Cream & White Tabby
Hi AbiJen, this is interesting. I have always assumed that the 'cream and white tabby' on the saga chart was the ASH. So yes, it does show the ruddy as dominant to both parents. Can you post a snapshot of the ruddy kitten's pedigree, please?
Thanks!

I also found this older thread that has a comment saying that ruddy is recessive to the snowshoe chocolate (which is between ruddy and cream and white on the saga chart now) but I dont see a picture with proof of this
https://kittycats.ws/forum/showthread.php?tid=3093&highlight=ruddy
 Thanks given by: AbiJen Resident
06-26-2016, 05:11 AM