Drop Menu Website Template

Hello There, Guest! Register

Question on Ear Traits
09-25-2013, 04:41 PM
Question on Ear Traits
So I'm new to kittycats and just had my first two kittens. I'm a bit confused by the traits Dom/Res part of things. From what I've been reading the idea is for all traits the kitty had two traits one dom, one res and the dom one is the one being shown. So i dont understand how i could have gotten the box that i got.

Dad - ody 1
D-Mom - ody 1
D-Dad - ody 1

Mom - mysterious
M-Mom - pointed soft fold
M- Dad - mysterious

New Box - pointed soft fold

Ok so if my understanding is correct the hidden ears on the mom are pointed soft fold/mysterious......on dad its ody 1 hidden/shown. This is the part that i dont get.
Dom Order: Mysterious - Ody 1 - Pointed Soft Fold
The Dom of the two traits always shows over the recessive so im told, so how do i end up with pointed soft fold over the other two dom traits and does that mean the box holds some other more recessive kitten trait from back in the family line?

On aside note if i work out the ear traits i get 50% chance for ody, 25% chance for mysterious, and 25% chance for pointed soft fold. So logically there was a chance to get any of the ear styles. But everything I see written says Dom ALWAYS shows over recessive,which isnt how genetics usually works in the real world.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-25-2013, 07:38 PM
RE: Question on Ear Traits
(09-25-2013 04:41 PM)anka Mynx Wrote:  So I'm new to kittycats and just had my first two kittens. I'm a bit confused by the traits Dom/Res part of things. From what I've been reading the idea is for all traits the kitty had two traits one dom, one res and the dom one is the one being shown. So i dont understand how i could have gotten the box that i got.

Dad - ody 1
D-Mom - ody 1
D-Dad - ody 1

Mom - mysterious
M-Mom - pointed soft fold
M- Dad - mysterious

New Box - pointed soft fold